top of page

Harry Brench

Designer Blog Interview


Please give an introduction about yourself

Hi my name is Harry. By day I’m currently a furniture designer working on healthcare furniture. By night I consider myself an all round creative and enjoy designing and creating objects that make my everyday life more easy and interesting.


How long have you been designing & making?

It’s really hard to say probably as long as I can remember. I still have a small book from the ages of about 6-10 I used to practice drawing in. Unsurprisingly even at that age I had an interest in 3D. Whereas a lot of kids at that age might have gravitated towards drawing cartoons I loved drawing 3D objects. From around ages 10 my dad showed me Warhammer, injection moulded small scale models which you build and paint. it’s like sci-fi air fix for anyone that doesn’t know. This was really the start of an obsession with making things for me. I would get sections of MDF or card and make buildings from them and cover them in paper mache and sand and stones from the garden then paint the whole thing so it looked like a ruined building. So I’ve been designing and making from a very early age and it has evolved into different forms as I have got older and started out my career.


What’s your favourite design & why?

This does change every so often. At the moment I’d say it is “Naoto Fukasawa’s”

“Piccola Papilio” chair. His designs are very much to my taste, he is one of those designers that has an elite mastery of form and creates objects that are so beautiful you wish you designed them yourself and this chair is one of those objects for certain!



Other notable mentions would be dieter rams alarm clock for Braun


And chair 1 by Konstantin Grcic


What’s your most favourite design that you’ve created?

It would probably have to be my two final year university projects. Just because I put so much work into them and was really pleased with what I created. It was also a great balance between having a brief set by a live client to create some constraints but still a lot more creative freedom than i have my day job now to be able to do what I want. If you reading this now are studying design at university now make the most of having total creative freedom to do what you want!


This project I spent weeks and weeks debating with myself if I was doing the right thing by the brief!


What is your favourite 3DPrinter/material to use?

I haven’t ventured far from my trusty Ender 3. it’s the printer I use Mainly because it is a reasonable price which makes it great home printer any little projects I have going on! I would love to learn some more sculptural 3D modelling softwares so I can have a go at designing some really detailed stuff for resin printers!


What do you do with your failed 3DPrinted components?

Normally when I have any product or part for something that fails I like to keep it encase it comes in handy later on or encase I decide to just take it apart to have a closer look at how it works. I always find its a great learning process to tear products apart and see how they go together!


That’s great Harry, thanks for the interview! Do you have any closing remarks?

You are very welcome!

I’d just encourage everyone to keep being creative, keep making things and never get discouraged!

bottom of page